Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi earned $2,548,743 from an overall purse of $13,273,253 for his victory in the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500.

The rookie, whose winnings included $50,000 for Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors, coasted across the finish line on an empty fuel tank in his Andretti Herta Autosport-Honda, beating teammate and 2013 Rookie of the Year Carlos Munoz who earned $788,743 for his efforts.

Rossi was the first rookie winner since Helio Castroneves in 2001 and the first American-born rookie winner since Louis Meyer in 1928.

Josef Newgarden was top-finishing Chevrolet driver, taking third and $574,243 in the #21 Ed Carpenter Racing machine. He led 14 laps in what was his best finish in five Indianapolis 500 starts.

Polesitter James Hinchcliffe won $502,993 in the No. 5 Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda, which included the $100,000 Verizon P1 Award.

Ryan Hunter-Reay, the 2014 Indy 500 winner, led the most laps (52) but finished only 24th after being collected in a pit road incident yet still earned $419,243. Even the first retirement, defending Indy winner Juan Pablo Montoya earned $339,493 in the Team Penske-Chevrolet.


Rossi earns $2.5m for Indy 500 win