Audi has lost victory in the opening round of the 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship following post-race scrutineering at Silverstone, handing the win to Porsche.

The race winning #7 Audi R18 has lost its win at the 6 Hours of Silverstone after failing the mandatory skidblock test at post-race scrutineering.

The new LMP1 machine, driven by Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler, was excluded after the block was measured as being under the regulation 20mm. understands that the decision to exclude the #7 Audi R18 from the results will not be appealed by Audi Sport Team Joest. 

The stewards decision detailed that the front skidblock ‘does not comply with  Article 3.5.6a3 of the technical regulations’ and that Audi explained the wear as more than 5mm was ‘due to the circumstances during the race'. 

The bulletin, numbered decision No.27 went on to state: “The stewards consider it is the liability of the competitor to respect the Technical Regulations in any case in order the car complies after the race with this regulation." 

The official decision means that the victory in the opening round of the 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship goes to the #2 Porsche 919 of Marc Lieb, Neel Jani and Romain Dumas.

Revised Silverstone WEC results

Pos Driver Car Time
GermanyMarc Lieb 
FranceRomain Dumas 
SwitzerlandNeel Jani 
Porsche 919 Hybrid '16  6:01:53.028 
JapanKamui Kobayashi 
United KingdomMike Conway 
FranceStéphane Sarrazin 
Toyota TS050 HYBRID  +1 lap 
SwitzerlandAlexandre Imperatori 
Mathéo Tuscher  
AustriaDominik Kraihamer 
Rebellion R-One  +11 laps 
BrazilNelson Piquet Jr. 
GermanyNick Heidfeld 
FranceNicolas Prost 
Rebellion R-One  +13 laps 
MexicoRicardo Gonzalez 
PortugalFilipe Albuquerque 
BrazilBruno Senna 
Ligier JS P2  +15 laps 
United KingdomRyan Dalziel 
BrazilPipo Derani 
CanadaChris Cumming 
Ligier JS P2  +15 laps 
RussiaRoman Rusinov 
GermanyRené Rast 
FranceNathanael Berthon 
ORECA 05  +15 laps 
FranceNicolas Lapierre 
United StatesGustavo Menezes 
PolandStéphane Richelmi 
Alpine A460  +16 laps 
United KingdomJonny Kane 
United KingdomNick Leventis 
United KingdomDanny Watts 
Gibson 015S  +17 laps 
10  SpainRoberto Merhi 
Matt Rao  
United KingdomRichard Bradley 
ORECA 05  +17 laps 
11  FranceNelson Panciatici 
ChinaHo-Pin Tung 
ChinaDavid Cheng 
Alpine A460  +18 laps 
12  RussiaVitaly Petrov 
RussiaKirill Ladygin 
RussiaViktor Shaytar 
BR Engineering BR01  +18 laps 
13  United StatesScott Sharp 
United StatesEd Brown 
United StatesJohannes van Overbeek 
Ligier JS P2  +19 laps 
14  United KingdomJames Rossiter 
United KingdomOliver Webb 
SwitzerlandSimon Trummer 
CLM P1/01  +22 laps 
15  FranceNicolas Minassian 
ItalyMaurizio Mediani 
BR Engineering BR01  +23 laps 
16  United KingdomAnthony Davidson 
JapanKazuki Nakajima 
SwitzerlandSébastien Buemi 
Toyota TS050 HYBRID  +24 laps 
17  ItalyDavide Rigon 
United KingdomSam Bird 
Ferrari 488 GTE  +27 laps 
18  ItalyGianmaria Bruni 
United KingdomJames Calado 
Ferrari 488 GTE  +28 laps 
19  DenmarkNicki Thiim 
Marco Sørensen  
United KingdomDarren Turner 
Aston Martin Vantage V8  +28 laps 
20  United KingdomAndy Priaulx 
United KingdomMarino Franchitti 
United KingdomHarry Tincknell 
Ford GT '16  +29 laps 
21  United StatesBilly Johnson 
FranceOlivier Pla 
GermanyStefan Mücke 
Ford GT '16  +29 laps 
22  FranceEmmanuel Collard 
PortugalRui Aguas 
FranceFrançois Perrodo 
Ferrari F458 Italia  +31 laps 
23  PortugalPedro Lamy 
CanadaPaul Dalla Lana 
AustriaMathias Lauda 
Aston Martin Vantage V8  +32 laps 
24  ItalyPaolo Ruberti 
JapanYutaka Yamagishi 
FrancePierre Ragues 
Chevrolet Corvette C7  +33 laps 
25  AustriaRichard Lietz 
DenmarkMichael Christensen 
Porsche 911 RSR  +40 laps 
26  GermanyChristian Ried 
Joël Camathias  
GermanyWolf Henzler 
Porsche 911 RSR  +40 laps 
27  United Arab EmiratesKhaled Al Qubaisi 
DenmarkDavid Heinemeier Hansson
AustriaKlaus Bachler 
Porsche 911 RSR  +41 laps 
DW Andre Lotterer 
Benoit Tréluyer 
Marcel Fassler 
Audi R18 E-Tron Quattro '16  
R Richie Stanaway 
Fernando Rees 
Aston Martin Vantage V8  
R Tor Graves 
Will Stevens 
James Jakes 
ORECA 05  
R Mark Webber 
Brendon Hartley 
Timo Bernhard 
Porsche 919 Hybrid '16  
R Loic Duval 
Oliver Jarvis 
Lucas di Grassi 
Audi R18 E-Tron Quattro '16  
R Mike Wainwright  
Adam Carroll 
Ben Barker 
Porsche 911 RSR