The International Engine of the Year Awards has announced the winners for this year’s competition

The International Engine of the Year Awards has announced the winners of this year’s competition.


The overall winner is the BMW i8 with its PHEV system, combining 1.5-liter petrol unit and an electric motor with a total output of 362 PS (266 kW). This powerplant ended only seven points ahead of the three-time-in-a-row winner 1.0 EcoBoost from Ford, which took the sub 1-liter award this year. BMW also won the 1.4 – 1.8 –liter category and the New Engine with the 1.5-liter turbo engine, as well as the 2.5 – 3.0-liter competition with the M3/M4's 3.0-liter engine with 431 PS (317 kW).


PSA’s 1.2-liter 3-cylinder turbo petrol unit was selected as the best 1.0 – 1.4-liter engine, while Mercedes-Benz’s 2.0-liter turbo motor of the A45 AMG family was awarded best 1.8 – 2.0-liter engine. Audi took the 2.0 – 2.5-liter prize with its 2.5-liter 367 PS (270 kW) engine and McLaren’s 3.8-liter twin-turbo V8 got the 3.0 – 4.0-liter prize.



In the biggest displacement category – the above 4.0-liter engine, Ferrari took the win with its 4.5-liter V8 engine of the 458 Italia and 458 Speciale, which also beat the competitors for the Performance Engine award. The full-electric powerplant of the Tesla Model S was awarded best Green Engine of the year.

Gallery: International Engine of the Year winners announced, BMW is overall winner

Got a tip for us? Email: