After earning pole position yesterday, Lewis Hamilton won his first race since switching to Mercedes AMG.

After earning pole position yesterday, Lewis Hamilton won his first race since switching to Mercedes AMG.

Vettel's start of the race was modest as he was almost overtaken by Romain Grosjean, while Fernando Alonso and Nico Rosberg tried to get a piece of the action. Vettel stayed close to Hamilton until the first round of pitstops but then the triple world champion was under pressure coming from Grosjean so he wasn't able to attack Hamilton to take the lead.

Hamilton returned to the track following his first pitstop behind Jenson Button but managed to get pass him and then pulled away. We can't say the same thing about Vettel who failed to overtake Button after pitting. The two drivers had a minor collision which gave Vettel some worries regarding the car's front wing. Grosjean and Alonso came very close to Vettel but not enough to get pass him.

Grosjean was penalized with a drive-through following his second pitstop after overtaking Massa by exceeding the track's limits. Vettel managed to get in front of Button in lap 24 but Hamilton had a relaxing advantage which he held on to until the end of the race.

Thanks to an extremely long first stint on medium tires, Mark Webber managed to reach high positions but was no match to Lewis Hamilton who passed the Australian in Turn 3 thanks to a fresh set of tires. Raikkonen's two-pitstop strategy proved to be fruitful as he crossed the finish line second ahead of the two Red Bulls. Vettel tried towards the end of the race to attack Kimi but he had to settle with third place, while teammate Webber came fourth.

Fernando Alonso had a slow day and claimed only fifth place, successfully resisting in front of Grosjean who crossed the finish line on sixth place. The McLarens adopted a two-pitstop strategy and grabbed seventh (Jenson Button) and ninth (Sergio Perez) places, with Massa's Ferrari separating the two. Pastor Maldonado snatched the last point offered today, taking advantage of Rosberg's retirement due to most likely an engine failure.

Results Race:

Pos No Driver Team Laps Time/Retired Grid Pts
1 10 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 70 Winner 1 25
2 7 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault 70 +10.9 secs 6 18
3 1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 70 +12.4 secs 2 15
4 2 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault 70 +18.0 secs 10 12
5 3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 70 +31.4 secs 5 10
6 8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 70 +32.2 secs 3 8
7 5 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 70 +53.8 secs 13 6
8 4 Felipe Massa Ferrari 70 +56.4 secs 7 4
9 6 Sergio Perez McLaren-Mercedes 69 +1 Lap 9 2
10 16 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 69 +1 Lap 15 1
11 11 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber-Ferrari 69 +1 Lap 12  
12 18 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari 69 +1 Lap 14  
13 19 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari 69 +1 Lap 8  
14 21 Giedo van der Garde Caterham-Renault 68 +2 Laps 20  
15 20 Charles Pic Caterham-Renault 68 +2 Laps 19  
16 22 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Cosworth 67 +3 Laps 21  
17 23 Max Chilton Marussia-Cosworth 67 +3 Laps 22  
18 14 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 66 +4 Laps 18  
19 9 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 64 +6 Laps 4  
Ret 17 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Renault 42 +28 Laps 16  
Ret 12 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 28 +42 Laps 17  
Ret 15 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 19 +51 Laps 11

Pole-sitter secures victory in Hungarian Grand Prix [results]