Only 38 cars have made the cut, while 44 other models have grabbed the Top Safety Pick title without the +

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety in United States has released today the full list of vehicles that have scored the 2017 Top Safety Pick+ award, something which is more difficult to earn beginning with the 2017 model year. In order to be eligible to receive the highest distinction, a car’s headlights now must receive a Good or Acceptable rating.

Only seven 2017MY vehicles out of a total of 38 models that have earned the 2017 Top Safety Pick+ award have Good-rated headlights, and these are: Chevy Volt, Honda Ridgeline, Hyundai Elantra, Hyundai Santa Fe, Subaru Legacy, Toyota Prius, and the Volvo XC60. The other 31 models have been rated by IIHS as having acceptable headlights.

Here is the full list of 38 models that have earned the 2017 Top Safety Pick+ award:

Small cars

  • Chevrolet Volt
  • Hyundai Elantra (sedan only; built after March 2016)
  • Mazda 3
  • Toyota Corolla
  • Toyota Prius (built after August 2016)

Midsize cars

  • Honda Accord 4-door
  • Mazda 6
  • Nissan Altima
  • Nissan Maxima
  • Subaru Legacy
  • Subaru Outback
  • Toyota Camry
  • Toyota Prius v
  • Volkswagen Jetta

Midsize luxury cars

  • Audi A4
  • Lexus ES 350
  • Volvo S60
  • Volvo V60

Large luxury cars

  • Genesis G80
  • Genesis G90
  • Lexus RC

Small SUVs

  • Mazda CX-3
  • Mitsubishi Outlander
  • Nissan Rogue
  • Subaru Forester (built after October 2016)
  • Toyota RAV4

Midsize SUVs

  • Honda Pilot
  • Hyundai Santa Fe (built after March 2016)

Midsize luxury SUVs

  • Acura MDX
  • Acura RDX
  • Audi Q5
  • Buick Envision
  • Lexus NX
  • Lexus RX
  • Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class
  • Volvo XC60


Large pickup

  • Honda Ridgeline
2016 Chrysler Pacifica crash test
2017 Chevy Volt Crash Test
Honda Ridgeline during IIHS crash test

IIHS mentions the Hyundai Tucson almost made the cut, but the acceptable-rated headlights can’t be had on the version that comes with a superior rating for autobrake.

It’s a similar story with the Infiniti Q70, which has a superior rating for its optional front crash prevention system, but the headlights that you get with this autobrake option only have a marginal rating. The headlights that come as standard with the Q70 are rated as being acceptable, but you can’t have them with the aforementioned front crash prevention system rated superior.

Speaking of a front crash prevention system, IIHS points out 21 models have it as standard equipment together with automatic braking capabilities.

Check out the press release below to discover the 44-model list for the 2017 Top Safety Pick award without the +.


Be part of something big